Department Chair

  • Erich Hertz
    Associate Professor of English
    Kiernan Hall 214
    (518) 782-6896

Scholarships & Awards

The Major Field Award

Each year the English Department faculty presents a graduating English or English Education major with the Major Field Award in English. This student has an outstanding record of excellence in his/her courses and has contributed positively and proactively to the English Department and Siena College community. Award recipients’ names are engraved on a plaque that hangs on the second floor in Kiernan Hall.

2013 Recipient: Olivia Phetteplace

Matthew Conlin Scholarship

The Matthew Conlin Scholarship is awarded annually to a Junior or Senior English major. The winner is selected on the basis of demonstrated academic excellence, financial need, and contribution to the Franciscan mission of the College. To apply, students must submit a letter to the Scholarship Committee (Dr. Mary Fitzgerald-Hoyt, Chair), stating their academic qualifications and service activities on campus and/or in the larger community. 

Casey Summer Fellowship

The Casey Summer Fellowship is an annual award, donated by two alumni, that provides a $1750 stipend for a student engaged in an original research project. The stipend may be used for travel, living expenses, books and other research supplies, etc. The recipient must be a returning student, so graduating Seniors are not eligible. The fellowship offers a wonderful opportunity to pursue a research interest that may not be covered in the regular curriculum, to engage in research leading up to the writing of an Honors thesis, to work more intensively on a writer, a work, or a genre. It is also possible to develop the project into an Independent Study for academic credit. To apply, please submit a one or two-page proposal to a member of the English Department Scholarship Committee: Drs. Mary Fitzgerald-Hoyt (Committee Chair), Meg Woolbright, or Charles Trainor by APRIL 27. Your proposal should describe your project, including the name of your mentor, and how you would use the funds. Please be sure to secure the faculty member's permission before submitting the proposal.

2013 Casey Summer Fellow: Sarah Sesterhenn


The Sinnigen Prize

The Sinnigen Prize is awarded for an 8-10 page student paper on a Catholic author. The 2012 deadline is FRIDAY, APRIL 27. Please deliver your essay to Dr. Dollar’s office (Kiernan 209). This year’s award is $100. Possible authors include: FLANNERY O’CONNOR; ERNEST HEMINGWAY; F. SCOTT FITZGERALD; JOSEPH CONRAD; J.RR.TOLKIEN; E. WAUGH; G. GREENE; CHAUCER; JUDITH ORTIZ COFER; RUDOLFO ANAYA; JULIA ALVAREZ; J.H. NEWMAN; G.M. HOPKINS; LOUISE ERDRICH; CORMAC MCCARTHY; CHIMAMANDA ADICHIE; GLORIA ANZALDA; ANA CASTILLO; UWEM AKPAN; WILLIAM KENNEDY; COLUM MCCANN; . . . and many more. Please email Dr. Dollar ( for more details.

2013 Winner: Erin Faeth '14, "A Party of Perpetuation" -- an analyis of Julia Alvarez's novel Once Upon A Quinceanera.